Without the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)

July 26, 2012 at 10:44 am 6 comments

I have a hard time imagining what my life wouldTony and Sheri be like without the ADA.  It’s true that I had my disability for a long time before the ADA became law in 1990 (I was born with Friedreich’s Ataxia, but it really didn’t begin to have a negative impact on my life until I was about 25 years old which was in 1993; I didn’t even start using a wheelchair until 1998!), but access certainly wasn’t as big a deal for me then as it is for me now.

The ADA has opened so many doors for me (that’s just a figure of speech; I’m not talking about doors with automatic openers…although they’re nice too!) to do so many things that make my life so much more enjoyable and better in general, that without it there is no way in the world I would be as independent as I am now.

Because of the ADA, I am able to go out with my wife (who is also a wheelchair user) to eat at restaurants, to attend sporting events, to the theater, or even just window shopping.  Curbcuts, ramps into buildings, elevators, and accessible transportation all play a huge part in my life almost each and every day.

Does the ADA make everything perfect for me?  No, of course not, but I don’t expect that to be the case.  I want the same opportunities as every other American, and that includes the opportunity to fail.  I am an American who uses a wheelchair; I just want my rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

By Tony Trott – Peer Mentor

Entry filed under: ADA, Disability History. Tags: , .

We’re Pushing the CRPD Forward! Action Alert: Tell your Senators to Ratify the CRPD Today!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosemary Ciotti  |  July 26, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Well said. Without the access to the public realm that is afforded by the ADA I would be a prisoner in my home.

    Reply
    • 2. ecnvecnv  |  July 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      Thanks, Rosemary. I think we all would be to some degreee!

      Reply
  • 3. Sheri  |  July 26, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    great post! You didn’t tell me you were going to use a picture 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. ecnvecnv  |  July 26, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Ha! It’s an oldie but a goodie!

      Reply
  • 5. shauna tarshis denkensohn  |  July 28, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Well said – straightforward and honest!

    Reply
    • 6. ecnvecnv  |  July 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

      Thanks, Shauna.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


