Executive Director to Retire

June 6, 2012 at 12:04 pm Leave a comment

David Burds

David Burds

I have recently informed my Board of Directors and staff at ECNV that I will be resigning/retiring from ECNV. The Board and I agreed that I would stay on until October 31, 2012 to allow adequate time for a smooth transition to a new Executive Director.Another reason I will stay until the end of October is because I wish to be around for the Gala on October 20th celebrating the 30th Anniversary of ECNV. In 1982, when ECNV opened its doors I was a volunteer for its first year of existence. I left to work with IBM for the next 12 years. When IBM went through a major downsizing in 1995, I came back to ECNV as the Personal Assistance Services (PAS) Coordinator and later served as the Director of Administration and have been the Executive Director since 2007.

Over the years there are so many of you that I have grown to know and love and the fact that I will be staying until the end of October will allow plenty of time for goodbyes!

David Burds at the Grand Opening of ECNV in 1982

David Burds in 1982

I have thoroughly enjoyed (I’d even say loved) working at ECNV – consumers, participants, staff, Board members, volunteers, and many, many others have earned a special place in my heart and they’ll always be there.

Our mission is to assist and empower people with disabilities to become more independent. I hope I have been able to be a part of this mission.

Since I’ll still be around until October 31st this year, I will have a lot more to say between now and then! Also I hope many of you will join us at the 30th Anniversary Gala on October 20, 2012. You will hear more about the Gala in the coming months.

By David Burds, ECNV Executive Director
Article from the ECNV Declaration (Summer 2012 Edition)

Entry filed under: Newsletter - The ECNV Declaration. Tags: , , .

From the Editor President’s Note

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


