My Cochlear Implant (CI, Part 7) – Haven’t I done this before?

December 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm 8 comments

Tony and ECNV Executive Director David Burds
At my appointment on December 1 at Johns Hopkins, there were times when I was thinking I’ve done this same type of testing a bunch of times, why am I doing it again? The answer is, very simply, because things change! It, kind of, seems odd that one can have such a vastly different level of hearing after such a relatively short period of time (in this case, about six months); but then I think about my disability, Friedreich’s Ataxia (FA), and it does not seem so odd.

FA is a progressive disability and in my case the hearing issues get worse at a much quicker rate than the physical issues. That is certainly not to say that my physical issues are not a problem (I do use a wheelchair or scooter for mobility), but my hearing can change on an almost daily basis whereas changes in my physical disability may not be noticeable for several months. Heck, I could take the exact same audiology test for a week and I’d probably get about five different results.

So since that is the case, and I know it well, I took an active and honest role in various audiology tests. I have no doubt that sometimes the results from those tests are confounding to my audiologist, but she does her best to help me (thanks, Courtney!).

The bottom line is that after getting a cochlear implant I am able to hear and understand what is being said to me. I still have better and worse hearing days but they are not as often as they used to be, and the fact is I can hear and understand much of what is said to me; and that is not something that I have done before or at least not for many years!

Entry filed under: Deaf/HoH -- Vlog. Tags: , , .

Invite to ECNV Annual Meeting/Holiday Party from ECNV’s Executive Director CRUCIAL YOU ATTEND — Local Hearings Held By State Legislators

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosemary Ciotti  |  December 11, 2011 at 2:07 am

    Tony, This blog has been very informative for me. Yes, I notice that some days are better than others but on the aggregate, for me, there is a net gain in you hearing what I am saying to you-so now when you appear to NOT hear me I get to wonder if you are deliberately ignoring me :-)))
    Good Times!

    Reply
    • 2. ecnvecnv  |  December 12, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      HaHaHa. I promise, I’m not ignoring you! And I certainly agree that there has been a “net gain” in my ability to understand people speaking to me. Group situations are still very difficult. I believe there’s a blog post in that!

      Reply
  • 3. judithguystudio  |  December 12, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Tony, I am glad to read this. Seamus had been asking me what your progress had been like. I regret that I mostly see you in big groups and so haven’t had the benefit of your improved hearing.

    Reply
    • 4. ecnvecnv  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:52 am

      Yes, well we’ll have to fix that! Maybe over the holidays. Tell Seamus I appreciate his interest.

      Reply
  • 5. Ronda  |  December 12, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Hi Tony,
    It is very interesting reading about your condition and progress. It’s wonderful that your implant has made a big difference in your ability to hear more. I know when I’ve been over to your place it seemed to me that you were hearing better too! Hopefully you have many more good days than not so good and that your hearing continues to improve. Yeah!!
    Thanks for the update. Have a good week.
    Best, Ronda

    Reply
    • 6. ecnvecnv  |  December 13, 2011 at 11:06 am

      Thanks, Ronda. Holidays can be very isolating because of hearing issues (and for plenty of other reasons also!). So the next month or so should be a good test!

      Reply
  • 7. shauna  |  December 18, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Great to learn this news. next time we are together, we will have to make sure there is “quiet time” to have a conversation!

    Reply
    • 8. ecnvecnv  |  December 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      I definitely look forward to it, Shauna!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


