My Cochlear Implant (CI, Part 6) – One Year Later

October 20, 2011 at 8:06 pm Leave a comment

Tony and SheriIt really is hard to believe that it has been a year (OK, technically a year and a day) since I had my cochlear implant surgery. It has definitely been a year of excitement and anticipation as well as one described by many other adjectives. 

Thinking back to the actual day of the surgery, I remember seeing my surgeon, Dr. Charles Limb, before the operation, being prepped for surgery, seeing my Mother and my wife as I was being taken to the OR, and then arriving in the OR which was probably the cleanest most sparkling room in which I have ever been! I remember a nurse telling me that the anesthetic was about to be applied and then the next thing I knew I was in the recovery room with a bandage around my head. 

There was, thankfully, little pain (that would come later, when the anesthesia wore off) and I was able to leave Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore about five hours after the surgery.  The ride home took about an hour and a half (I think, I was still pretty hazy) and then I got home, and went straight for my favorite chair and stayed there until it was time to go to bed. 

The bandage around my head included a semi-circular piece of plastic over my ear to protect the actual area where the incision had been made, so I had to get used to not rolling over on it! I had taken a pain pill and, trust me, I fell right to sleep. But it was great to be home and not in the hospital even for one night! 

The next few days were spent recovering from the surgery and getting my stomach back in shape (anesthesia can really mess things up down there!). After several days, the bandage came off and I went back and saw the surgeon who said everything looked fine and my next appointment at Johns Hopkins would be in the middle of November for the initial activation of the implant. 

I’ll write about that anniversary next month, but today I’m just remembering the actual surgery.

By Tony Trott, ECNV Peer Mentor & Editor

Entry filed under: Deaf/HoH -- Vlog. Tags: , , .

My Virginia Medicaid Matters Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


