My Cochlear Implant (CI, Part 5) – Replacement

August 9, 2011 at 4:09 pm Leave a comment

Tony listening to the conversation through his CI

I had an appointment at Johns Hopkins earlier this summer, but things have been so busy I haven’t had a chance to write it up yet.  The Internet here at ECNV is down this morning, so I have some time to put things into writing.

Truly, there is not that much exciting to tell about the appointment.  First of all, traffic was pretty miserable getting from Washington to Baltimore.  The Baltimore-Washington Parkway is a much nicer ride than is Interstate 95, however when you’re sitting in stopped traffic knowing that you’ll be late for an appointment, the trees are less attractive!

Eventually, we got there and got to the Listening Center.  We were about 40 minutes late but my audiologist, thankfully, still was able to see me (I think she worked into her lunch break…what a nice audiologist I have!).

As I said, it was not particularly exciting.  We didn’t really make any significant changes to the processor.  Well, actually, we did make one change that will likely be significant.  As I think I’ve explained in previous posts about my CI, it has three distinct programs which can be set up differently.  We decided to change Program 2 to act as a telecoil (t-coil) which means it will pick up a signal from a loop when there is one.  Before I got the CI, I could really only understand spoken language if there was a loop present.  So it will be interesting to me to see how it works now.

While the t-coil was the only real change we made at the appointment, I did have to make a few changes on my own after that.  When I was attending the National Council on Independent Living Conference about a month later, I was making the rounds on Capital Hill visiting Congressional offices to advocate for disability issues and when I got home that evening, I realized I lost the extra battery I was carrying and the little case that holds it!  I did order replacements, but they’re crazy-expensive and we don‘t know yet if insurance will cover them.

I guess the lesson to be learned here is to be careful with batteries!

By Tony Trott, ECNV Peer Mentor & Editor

Entry filed under: Deaf/HoH -- Vlog. Tags: , , , .

Picnic Invite to ECNV/SCIN Members “My Medicaid Matters” Rally in D.C. on Sept. 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


