Thinking of Halloween

May 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm 2 comments

Wheelchair user dressed up for HalloweenI know Halloween is five and a half months away, but I read something recently that suggested registering for the Marine Corps Marathon which is held on October 30, 2011. Of course this made me think of Halloween.

I have often thought about what people someone who uses a wheelchair could dress up as for Halloween; wheelchair users, if they are going for authenticity, are somewhat limited in their choices. The first three choices to me are always FDR, Professor Xavier (from the X-Men), and Captain Pike from Star Trek (the captain of the USS Enterprise before James T. Kirk). That’s not to say that that is all there is. Those are just my first three choices. I never liked making believe I was somebody real from history, and plus, as a guy, comic books and outer space held sway over a former President even though I knew he was great!

You’d think there would be more choices these days, but I don’t know of many. There is still a dearth of characters from tv and movies who use wheelchairs. Probably the most prominent these days, or the one that comes to mind first anyway, is Artie Abrams from Glee. The only problem with that one is that Artie is played by a non-disabled actor. That aspect (which I’m not going to write about, but somebody could probably write a dissertation about) and the fact that I’m a little old to be dressing up as a high-school student, rules him out. So who else is there? Seeing Indiana Jones, Darth Vader, or Batman using a wheelchair just doesn’t quite seem to fit with the character too well. Sure, you could devise a back story about how Indiana Jones is recovering from a broken leg that he got when he was saving the world from the Nazis, Darth Vader is waiting to regain full mobility after tripping over an MSE-6 on the Death Star, or about how the Joker devised a weapon that turned Batman’s medial collateral ligament into spaghetti; but those are relatively hard to believe (even for those three characters).

So I’m back to my original three choices: FDR, Professor Xavier, and Captain Pike. I’ve only got about five months so let me know if you have any ideas.

By Tony Trott, ECNV Peer Mentor & Editor

Entry filed under: Other. Tags: , , .

Andrew Foster – Father of Deaf Education in Africa Long Term Unemployed Outreach Session

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. judithguystudio  |  May 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    I posed your question to some folks and Ironsides was immediately suggested. Also, making the chair a battle tank was another idea. But the best I think was from your brother in law, Abraham Lincoln as depicted in the Lincoln Memorial.
    Judy

    Reply
    • 2. ecnvecnv  |  May 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Those are good but I’m kind of short for Abraham Lincoln! I suppose I could just make a small chair and that would make me look bigger.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


