ADA Quotes

July 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm 3 comments

Barack Obama“And as we mark the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, we must renew our commitment to uphold the civil rights of those living with disabilities and to fully include all our people in the life of our nation.” – President Barack Obama

 

Bob Dole“Working together, we can ensure that every American citizen will be provided the access and opportunity to be a part of all that society offers.” – Former US Senator Bob Dole

 

 

“The ADA opened the door when businesses were looking at hiring people with disabilities as a matter of nondiscrimination and civil rights. Now we are finding that the best businesses are finding out that the large expenses they feared would be required, never came about. They are now finding what an asset to their business, employees with disabilities can be.” – Cherie

Doreen Solar“Because of the ADA, I am able to have a sign language interpreter for my efficient communication with hearing people. I also have closed captions when I watch television, DVDs, and movies so I am able to enjoy my leisure time with my deaf friends.” – Doreen

 

Ed McEntee“As a wheelchair user, ADA has opened up a whole new world to me, negotiating our local Transit system, which is now accessible.” – Ed M

 

 

Ed WeissThe ADA puts me on the same level as everyone else, even though I am sitting in a wheel chair.” – Ed W

 

 

George H.W. Bush “Let the shameful wall of exclusion finally come tumbling down.” – Former President George H.W. Bus

 

 

Kimball Gray“Because of the ADA I no longer worry that I’ll be kicked out of a movie theater because I can’t get out of my wheelchair and into a theater seat.” – Kimball

 

 

“Thanks to the ADA, I can get to and from work sooner.” – Jennifer

Justin Dart, Jr. “Most importantly, ADA is a landmark commandment of fundamental human morality. It is the world’s first declaration of equality for people with disabilities by any nation. It will proclaim to America and to the world that people with disabilities are fully human; that paternalistic, discriminatory, segregationist attitudes are no longer acceptable; and that henceforth people with disabilities must be accorded the same personal respect and the same social and economic opportunities as other people.” – Justin Dart, Jr.

Bob Kafka“If we believed that ADA is the power and we are the recipients of its strength, rather than we are the power and ADA is a tool for us to use, I fear we may still have a long way to go.” – Bob Kafka

 

“As a result of the law, I have been successful in getting curb cuts installed in two places important to my safety.” – Matt B

“Thanks to the ADA, I know that my accessibility is not something only I worry about … It is the law.” – Matt T

Ruchika Lalwani“Thanks to the ADA I can go out and dine at my favorite restaurants with my family and friends.” – Ruchika

 

 

“Thanks to this important law, living as a quadriplegic has become much easier. The ability to have accessible seating at movies and stadiums, accessible transportation, wide sidewalks and curb cuts and accessible dining opportunities has made my life better by leaps and bounds. However, there are still instances where accessibility is a barrier to full enjoyment of services in the community, so we cannot become complacent otherwise we will be left behind again.”- Sheri

Steny HoyerPassing ADA was incredibly historic. Now every day we must fight to make sure that the words in the law, the words on the White House lawn, the words in the House, and the words in the Senate become reality…” – US Congressman Steny Hoyer

 

 

Ted Kennedy “…equal justice under the law is not a privilege — but a fundamental birthright in America.” – US Senator Ted Kennedy

  

 

Tom Harkin “I strongly believe that it is important to level the playing field and give eligible individuals equal access to community-based services and supports. This vital legislation will open the door to full participation by people with disabilities in our neighborhoods, workplaces, our economy, and our American Dream.” – US Senator Tom Harkin  

 

Valerie Jarrett“The ADA was a landmark civil rights legislation. It was a bill of rights for persons with disabilities, a formal acknowledgement that Americans with disabilities are Americans first and that they’re entitled to the same rights and freedoms as everybody else.” – Valerie Jarrett

Article from the ECNV Declaration (Summer 2010 Edition)

Entry filed under: ADA, Newsletter - The ECNV Declaration. Tags: , .

A New Dawn! ABC 7 News Story — Marchers Mark 20 Years of Disabilities Act

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Kay  |  June 23, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    My company did not install a hand rail or high seating in ladies room even after several requests. I’ve always worked full time with my obvious ada compliant disability. I have been fighting for 7 years in eastern district court and I think my attorneys don’t get it. It’s so clear to me. I have pompe disease I can’t walk get up or down but I was always able to so 100% of my job as programmer analyst. Now pain dominatesy life and I’m an emotional reck. I’m incontinant. I’m afraid my attorney doesn’t have my interests firsts. He keeps reminding me I owe him 350 grand. Ug! God bless.

    Reply
    • 2. ecnvecnv  |  July 2, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      Mary Kay,

      Sorry for the delayed response. If you tell me where you are located, I will try to direct you to an organization that can help you,

      Tony

      Reply
  • 3. work safety  |  June 16, 2014 at 6:49 am

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Fantastic work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Follow ECNV’s Twitter


